padi_dm_package I received my PADI divemaster package. In Iceland the package costs 41,000Kr (approximately $341) Pretty standard price across Europe.  On amazon.com it was about $300 including shipping. The one most important thing I learned was not to lose the GREEN Sticker, as that was proof that I bought an authentic and unique PADI divemaster package.
At first glance, I was pretty happy with the package. The Recreational Diving book has everything! It reminded me of the old days (times before wikipedia).  I’m a sucker for hard copies- the book has very detailed information on the physiology of diving to polar cells and global wind patterns.

DOH! moment of the day: Before starting the dive program I learned that I needed to get a physical / doctor’s note.  I have a regular doctor at home that could have done the examination, but now I need to try out the Icelandic Health system and see how it goes. Hoping I get it done before my first day on Sunday. Gulp.